Schrader, Yoho Reestablish Veterinary Medicine Caucus in the 115th

f t # e
Washington DC, February 2, 2017 | Carlee Griffeth (202-225-5711) | comments

This week, Congressman Kurt Schrader (OR-5) and Congressman Ted Yoho (FL-3), two of only three licensed Veterinarians in Congress, reestablished the bipartisan Veterinary Medicine Caucus for the 115th Congress. The caucus aims to raise awareness of the importance of veterinary medicine, as well as to advance research, public health, animal health and welfare, and food safety.

“The Caucus remains committed to finding solutions to the biggest issues facing veterinarian medicine right now like recruitment and retention across rural America, helping students manage overwhelming debt, and fighting to keep education costs down,” said Rep. Schrader. “Just like with human medicine, there is zero room for bureaucratic red tape when it comes to training the next generation of doctors.”

The Veterinary Medicine was first established in 2012 in the 113th Congress. Since then, they’ve lead the charge on a number of bills and issues including the introduction of the Veterinary Medicine Mobility Act which was enacted into law in 2014. The caucus’s full membership is below:

Co-chair - Rep. Kurt Schrader, DVM (OR-05)
Co-chair - Rep. Ted Yoho, DVM (FL-03)
Rep. Ralph Abraham, DVM (LA-05)
Rep. Ann Kuster (NH-03)
Rep. Rodney Davis (IL-13)
Rep. Peter DeFazio (OR-04)
Rep. John Duncan (TN-02)
Rep. Jim McGovern (MA-02)
Rep. Mike Rogers (AL-03)
Rep. GT Thompson (PA-05)
Rep. Suzanne DelBene (WA-01)
Rep. Lois Capps (CA-24)
Rep. David Joyce (OH-14)
Rep. Jackie Walorski (IN-02)
Rep. Shelia Jackson Lee (TX-18)
Rep. Vicky Hartzler (MO-04)
Rep. Alcee Hastings (FL-20)
Rep. Kevin Yoder (KS-03)
Rep. Joe Courtney (CT-02)
Rep. Gregg Harper (MS-03)
Rep. Mark Pocan (WI-02)
Rep. Betty McCollum (MN-04)
Rep. Bill Flores (TX-17)
Rep. Jared Polis (CO-02)
Rep. Morgan Griffith (VA-09)
Rep. Cynthia Lummis (WY-AL)
Rep. David Price (NC-04)
Rep. David Jolly (FL-13)
Rep. Dan Lipinski (IL-03)
Rep. Jody Hice (GA-10)
Rep. John Garamendi (CA-03)
Rep. Kyrsten Sinema (AZ-09)
Rep. Donald Norcross (NJ-01)
Rep. Susan Davis (CA-53)
Rep. Jim Costa (CA-16)
Rep. Walter Jones (NC-03)

f t # e